Organisation of the Judicature

The Judiciary is one of three separate arms of Government. Its function is to administer the law independently of the Executive and the Legislative arms of Government; an independence that is safeguarded in the Constitution of the Cayman Islands. The Judiciary is comprised of the following jurisdictions in ascending order within the hierarchy of the courts:

Hears civil and criminal matters including Family, Youth and Coroner’s Courts.

Hears applications for judicial review, cases on criminal, civil, family and estate matters and appeals from the Summary Courts. In addition to the general Civil and Criminal Divisions, it has three specialist Divisions: the Admiralty Division, the Family Division and the Financial Services Division.

The Highest Court in the Cayman Islands in which civil and criminal appeals from the Grand and Summary Courts can be heard.

The highest Court from which an appeal from the Court of Appeal can be heard.